top of page

8 Shopping Tips for this Fall/Winter

Hey everyone!


Today I thought I would post some helpful tips for shopping this Fall/Winter, as well as give you a bonus Gift List! Hope you enjoy!


I LoVe to shop. It’s just always so fun to go and see new things, especially if you go with people who you enjoy spending time with. I’ve compiled a list of tips for shopping this Fall/Winter. All of these tips are based on personal opinion, so if any of them are not for you, please realize that I am no shopping queen, I am just sharing what works for me. With that, let’s get started!


1. Bring a purse. For some of you this might be a no brainer, but this is not something that I have always done while shopping. I would just bring my wallet and consider myself shopping ready. But, as you will see in the next point, I learned this lesson the hard way. Having a purse on you helps to keep everything (phone, wallet, keys, etc.) in one place, which diminishes the stress of constantly checking your pockets to make sure you have everything.


2. Be smart about how much money you bring. This is extremely needed when it comes to cash, especially for someone that doesn’t have a debit card. Bring enough money so that you will be able to make all the purchases you need to, and maybe bring a little extra just in case, but pLeAsE do not do what I did. Long story short, I had a LOT of cash on me because I do a lot of babysitting. I didn’t remember to put some cash from my wallet under the mattress (best hiding place ever) because I was in a rush, and brought upwards of $600 dollars cash with me when I went shopping with my boyfriend and two of my sisters. Somehow my wallet went missing, and when I got it back about 1 ½ hours later, there was NO money in it. I had lost all of my babysitting money from the last couple months, and it wasn’t a very nice feeling. In fact, I was quite upset with myself. I don’t want you to make this same mistake, so please, just be smart about how much money you bring with you out of the house.


3. Don’t buy something if you can’t see yourself wearing/using. This one seems kind of obvious, but from personal experience, I know it is so easy to buy something that looks nice, or that you think you will use, and then it gets deserted to the bottom of the closet or dresser. Been there, done that. When you are deciding on something to buy, think about when you are going to wear it/use it, what you are going to wear/use it with, and why do you need it. By going through these questions, I’ve eliminated so many unneeded purchases and I am always so happy afterward. These questions also help if you are an impulsive buyer.


4. Don’t buy it if it doesn’t match. This especially has to do with clothing. Building off of the above point, don’t buy a piece of clothing that doesn’t match anything you own. It's always the best when you can mix and match clothing articles. So if that cute shirt or hat you have your eye on doesn’t match anything you own, I highly suggest to leave it. (Unless you plan on buying an outfit to match it.)


5. Make a list. As a girl that makes lists for pretty much everything possible, I can really say that lists help to not buy unnecessary or unneeded items, and help to remember the things you need! Before you go shopping, write a small list of things you need, and if you want to, you can even put a limit on how much you want to spend on each item. Highly recommend sticking to your list as much as you can. 


6. Try things on before buying. You will probably all agree, sizes should be universal. It gets kind of confusing to be Large in one store and Small in another. As much as trying stuff on can be a hassle or annoying, it saves you the hassle and annoyance of having to return something that doesn’t fit quite right. 


7. Don’t love it? Don’t buy it. If something doesn’t have the capabilities of being your new favourite clothing article, don’t buy it. More than likely it will get pushed to the back of the closet and forgotten.  


8. Good quality beats better pricing. I used to be big into buying more cheap clothing than less more expensive clothing. But, I did some math and realized that it is actually cheaper to buy good quality clothing. It survives the wash, I can wear it more than once without it losing its shape, and it lasts more than just one season. Also, it is far more ideal to fall in love with a clothing article that I can wear for awhile, rather than something that only looks great the first few times I wear it.


Well, that’s all the tips I have for you today. Comment down below if I missed anything :) Modesty hacks coming sometime soon 🤗


Ps. Christmas is coming. Need help keeping Christmas Gift Ideas organized? Download and print the free organizer down below, courtesy of me ;) I will definitely be using this list myself this year!


Pps. I guess now-a-days, another good tip would be to bring your own hand sanitizer (: Stay healthy!



Download

bottom of page