top of page

Question: How can I find hope in complicated and trying times?

This Corona Virus has effected all of us. Schools are cancelled. Jobs are in jeopardy. You are stuck at home. Important events and plans have been cancelled. Life has kind of been put at a standstill. If any of you are like me, you are probably feeling pretty down. Am I the only that is tired of being cooped up with parents and siblings? (Didn't think so.) I am definitely looking forward to regaining my freedom. How can I find hope? How can I remain joyful?


1. Instead of considering this a time of being separated from people I see on a daily basis, I consider it a time to reflect and improve. Being with the same people day in and day out doesn't give us much chance to implement positive changes into our lives. It is hard to create habits with an audience, so during this time of separation, think of ways that you can improve! Maybe that means spending more time in God's Word. Maybe that means being more helpful. Maybe that means practicing patience a little more often. Whatever it is, think of now as a time to cultivate positive improvements.


2. Focus on the future, instead of dwelling on the past (or present). Maybe now is the time you needed to plan ahead for your future. These kinds can include (but are not limited to): planning for college, evaluating relationships, creating a budget that will help you save for a car or house, and so many more things! By focusing on the future ahead it is easier to stay positive in the present.


3. Being intentional and loving in the relationships of your best friends (and enemies) - family. This is a toughy. Being with my family all day every day can be a struggle sometimes. But what if I decide that now is the time to make my family my best friends? They have been there for me since I was born, and Lord willing will be there for me till I die. I owe them my love, support, and whatever else I can give them. Now is a good time to create positive relationships with my family.


These are just some ways that can help you remain hopeful and positive. Never forget that joy comes in the morning! (Psalm 30:5)


How are you staying hopeful and positive in these times?

bottom of page